Summer Runnin’ – Having a Blast!

Each quarter the members of my running team (SRC-Brooks) submit a short write up for the club. Here’s a preview of mine.

My focus this Summer was visiting as many of the classic NW trails as possible. My Brooks Pure Grit 5 and Cascadia 11s were perfect for bagging some epic peaks and Alpine Lakes. This summer I ran up the following for the first time:

  • Mailbox Peak – everything they say about the brutal incline up the old trail is true! Insane climb to the top with epic views. Loved every minute of it.
  • Gem Lake / Snow Lake – ran up it early and beat the crowds. Beautiful lakes and peaks. I saw my first avalanche up close but luckily not too close.
  • Granite Mountain – It was a beautiful clear day and an awesome run. Great 360 degree views.
  • Sahale Glacier and Hidden Lake Lookout – It was overcast for most of the day when I ran these two. However, I was able to get above the cloud level on my way up Sahale and was treated to a majestic cloud waterfall.
  • Kendall Katwalk – Great views and a really unique trail.

I did a few semi competitive races. I took first place at the Access to Justice 5k in my Brooks Racer ST 5s. I also took first rockin my Pure Grit 5s at the August Cougar Mountain Trail Series 5k.

I ran the Sundodger 8k open with the Cross Country team and took 275th in 30:50. It’s always fun and humbling to go up against the collegiate athletes.

I ended the Summer by completing an adventure run I’ve been dreaming of for a long time – a two-day circumnavigation of Mount Rainier on the 93 mile 22k feet of gain Wonderland Trail. It was the adventure of a lifetime and the hardest thing I’ve ever done in terms of running. I did it solo and I carried all of my own water and food – although I did resupply between day 1 and day 2 when I slept at the National Park Inn at Longmire. I loved how the views of the mountain changed as you traveled around it. I also appreciated the rhythm of running down the switchbacks, crossing a river, running up the switchbacks, and getting overwhelmed by natural beauty – repeated 10 times.

I’ve assembled 15 photos each from a different run that were my favs of the day.

img_3239

Olympic National Park – Near Deer Lake

img_3257

Olympic National Park – Pyramid Peak overlooking Lake Crescent

img_3361

Stuart Peak outside of Missoula Montana

img_3407

Goose Rock Deception State Park

img_3567

The eponymous Mailbox

img_3593

Gem Lake

img_3643

Hidden Lake was hidden in the clouds but the Paint Brush was amazing

img_3671

Sahale Arm

img_3791

Hampstead Heath

img_3806

Poo Poo Point

img_3824

Granite Mountain

img_3882

Squaw Peak, UT

img_3925

Kendall Katwalk

img_4040

Mount Rainier at sunrise. A sight for sore eyes after 4 hours of night running.

img_4115

Mount Rainier on Day 2 of my Wonderland Trail adventure

 

 

Leave a Reply

