My Year of Run Happy Begins

All the Brooks shoes I could find in my closet with my Brooks SRC singlet

All the Brooks shoes I could find in my closet with my Brooks SRC singlet

When training for my first marathon I decided I should go to a running store and get a real pair of running shoes as opposed to the cheap shoes that I had been running in – which the salesmen dismissed as merely “fitness shoes”.

After watching me walk, the salesman identified me a an overpronator and set me up with my first pair of Brooks shoes. The Adrenaline GTS 10 in white with blue accents. I ran my first marathon in 4:17 in those shoes and still have them in a shoebox in my closet. Those were a great pair of shoes.

My first pair of Brooks Adrenaline GTS 10s

My first pair of Brooks Adrenalines

Since than I have run nearly every one of my nine marathons in Brooks shoes. Either the Adrenaline or the Trance model – including my current PR a 2:52 at the 2014 St. George Marathon in a pair of Trance 12s. I even broke out my Brooks road shoes for the last 25 miles of my first Ultramarathon – the 2013 White River 50. At that race I learned that ripping down a mountain on a hard packed gravel road pretty much destroy a pair of road shoes.

I counted it up and since 2010 10 pairs of Brooks shoes including:

  1. 1 Adrenaline GTS 10
  2. 1 Adrenaline GTS 12
  3. 3 Trance 10
  4. 2 Trance 12
  5. 2 PureConnect 2
  6. 1 PureCadence 2

Seattle Running Club Brooks Team

When I found out that as a member of the Seattle Running Club I was eligible to be on a competitive running team sponsored by Brooks it felt like a match made in heaven. Not only do I get complimentary running gear, it’s the gear that I already love to run happy in. It’s a bonus that Brooks is a Seattle company and is committed to the principles that make this community so wonderful to be a part of.

As soon as I found out I was accepted into the team I made a rare trip across the bridge from my home in Bellevue to Brooks HQ in Fremont and their Trailhead flagship store. It was like being like a kid in a candy store to walk around and pick all the shoes I want to wear and try them on. They did a real gait analysis on me using their in store running lab and determined that I’m not quite the pronator I used to be. So this year I’ll be trying out the brand new Ravenna 6. They also diagnosed that I should probably go up a half-size due to the ugliness of my toe nails. I’m also super excited to try out their trail running line which I have not used in the past. The Cascadia 10s felt and looked great in the store and I’m looking forward to getting some dirt on them. I plan on blogging about the shoes and gear in action.

I actually just got an email that most of my shoes are ready for pick up! So look forward to some sweet unboxing photos soon.

Run Happy Goals for 2015

  1. Shave about an hour off my 2013 Whiteriver 50 time – from 9:26 to 8:30
  2. Place in the top 2 of the 2015 Cougar Mountain Trail Running Series Long Series (As there are only a few series completions each year this will likely be determined if any conflicts pop up preventing me from running one of the 4 races)
  3. Run a sub 1:20 Half Marathon
  4. Run a sub 2:50 Full Marathon
  5. Support my wife in any running goal she decides upon

I’m tracking my race plan here if you want to see what’s on the calendar for 2015.

Looking forward to what I’m calling my “year of run happy”. I’ll be tweeting from @whatsnextmatt throughout the year with the hashtag #srcbrooks if you want to follow the happy.

Leave a Reply

