2015 Seattle Running Club – Brooks Competitive Team Application

Date: 11/30/2014

Name: Mathew James Hong

Years of membership in SRC: 1.5 (Member #1423)

I’m always looking for the next challenge and becoming a member of the SRC-Brooks Competitive team is something I’ve been thinking about since I first heard about it last year. I’ve followed the progress of the team and I know it would be a great way to get more involved in a community that I cherish. I moved here four years ago from Texas and fell in love with running on the trails – it was serendipity that the home I chose to move into is in the middle of an amazing network of trails and less than 2 miles from Cougar Mountain.

Past Accomplishments:

2014 Scout Mountain Ultra Trail

2014 Scout Mountain Ultra Trail

2014 Cougar 10, I'm #1

2014 Cougar 10, I’m #1

Trail – 2014 Scout Mountain Ultra Trail (12:35, 10th), 2013 White River 50 (9:27, 50th – 1st Ultra), 2014 Cougar 20 Long (3:01, 2nd), 2014 Cougar 10 Long (1:25, 6th)

2014 St. George Marathon

2014 St. George Marathon

Road – 2014 St. George Marathon 2:52 (71/5801), 2014 Cinco de Mayo Half 1:22 (15/350), 2014 BAA 5k 17:25 (80/8642), 2013-2015 Boston Marathon Qualifier

Taken when running up Panhandle Gap

Taken when running up Panhandle Gap

Pagosa Peak, CO

Pagosa Peak, CO

In 2015 I currently plan on running the White River 50 again and as many of the Cougar Mountain series as possible. I’ll also run the 2015 Boston Marathon and likely a fall Marathon on the road as well. I typically will also run at least a couple half marathons. If selected to the team I would likely expand my race calendar. I would like to participate more with the cross country team but I have a standing commitment on Wednesday nights to serve as an advisor to the 16 to 18 year old young men at my church.

I also love just going on adventure runs wherever my family vacations whether it be another adventure on the Wonderland Trail or summiting Pagosa Peak in Colorado. I am active on social media and consistently blog about my races and running adventures including the gear I use (whatsnextmatt.wordpress.com, @whatsnextmatt). I love Brooks shoes and would be super excited to run in their latest gear. I would use my blog to promote the club and our sponsor. I proudly wear SRC gear at all my races.

I have not attended as many SRC service projects as I would have liked to – I’ve only attended 1 trail work party in the past – but I can commit to the requirements spelled out on the application for service.

Things I’m concerned would be difficult as a member of the team:

  • My schedule is not as flexible as some folks (Wife, 3 Kids, Career, Church Service)
  • I don’t race on Sunday as a rule although I may be able to volunteer
  • I don’t drink – but I hope I can make up for that with my considerable skills as a Texas BBQ pitmaster

I would love to be a part of the team and play a more active role in the SRC community.

Respectfully Submitted,

Matt Hong

More Photo Evidence of SRC Pride:

SRC Pride with Lauren Fleshman and Kara Goucher

Representing SRC with Lauren Fleshman and Kara Goucher

Obligatory Glenn Tachiyama White River 50 Shot

Obligatory Glenn Tachiyama White River 50 Shot

Leave a Reply

