2014 Cougar Mountain 20

I noticed the other day that I had neglected to blog about the 2014 Cougar Mountain 20. It’s a significant race for me because I think it’s the only time I’ve been on the overall podium (although there is no actual podium at these races). I took 2nd place (results). Part of this was luck since two of the really fast people dropped out.

I ran the first half with a pack that included Arthur Martineau. After the turn around I decided to push the pace a bit more. There 1st place woman was chasing me down for much of the race and it took all my masculine pride to avoid being chicked. She was pretty fast and won the women’s side by 48 minutes.

It was a really muggy day and my brooks singlet got saturated with sweat and I had some chaffing so I ended the race shirtless.

Here’s a link to the track in runkeeper.

Leave a Reply

